Episode 356: Pere Ubu – ‘The Modern Dance’




May 30, 2018


All music by Pere Ubu from The Modern Dance, released in 1978 under the label Blank.

  • “Real World”
  • “Over My Head”
  • “Life Stinks”
  • “Street Waves”
  • “Humor Me”
  • “The Modern Dance”


Anniversaries Week continues with Cleveland, Ohio’s very own Pere Ubu. Their debut studio, The Modern Dance, was released in 1978 and forever changed the post-punk scene.

FUN FACT: In a Guardian interview, Pere Ubu’s David Thomas (the band’s only constant member) talks about staying focused on performances while on the road:

“My head is usually damned clear, but the whole day is focused on the performance. That’s why we forbid radio, TV, noise or talking. You’re allowed to say “Toilet!” and we will stop the bus.”

Read the rest of his 2015 interview here: https://www.theguardian.com/music/2015/jul/23/pere-ubu-david-thomas-music-interview

Got a comment on the show or want to weigh in on a topic we discussed? Did we leave something out? Get something wrong? Email us at rock@suburbspod.com

Follow us on the Twitter or the Facebook or better yet, leave a message on the Suburban Party Line at 612-440-1984

If none of those work, try this:

← Older
Newer →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.