Episode 1366: What Was First: Factory Records




May 16, 2022


All songs in this episode from A Factory Sample, released on Factory Records in 1979 (originally intended for release in 1978).

  • Joy Division “Digital”
  • The Durutti Column “Thin Ice (Detail)”
  • John Dowie “Idiot”
  • Cabaret Voltaire “Sex In Secret”


We have one more bite-sized record label history lesson for you all. Listener Nick Optus wrote in to suggest we investigate the first release on the legendary Factory Records. There is a twist to the “first release” tale on this episode you won’t want to miss!

For your viewing pleasure…

Got a comment on the show or want to weigh in on a topic we discussed? Did we leave something out? Get something wrong? Email us at rock@suburbspod.com

Follow us on the Twitter or the Facebook or better yet, leave a message on the Suburban Party Line at 612-440-1984

If none of those work, try this:

← Older
Newer →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.